Gun Hill Signal Station
Gun Hill Signal Station, located in the parish of St.George, provides a magnificent and captivating view of the entire island!
It is the finest of a series of signal stations built in 1818. These stations sighted ships approaching Barbados and signaled to each other in warning of the approaching vessel. They were also used to warn of slave rebellions on the island. Another signal station can be found at Grenade Hall.
The signal station was restored and landscaped by the Barbados National Trust and now houses a collection of military memorabilia.
The statue of the lion (shown in picture at right) was carved out of a single piece of rock in 1868 by an officer at the signal station.
Explore other Barbados signal stations...